Understanding the Different Forms of Hinduism Worship

Hindus practice different types of religious traditions. Each of these is done with a unique goal in mind. Showing bhakti, or loving devotion to God, is the primary reason for worship. Hindus can worship in their home and the temple. Take a look at the different forms of worship – Puja, aarti, darshan, and havan.

Aarti Worship

Among the main ceremonies is the Aarti worship. They worship with an aarti lamp passed in front of each worshiper during the service. To receive blessings from God, Hindus will then wave their hands over the flame and then over their heads. There is more to read from if you want to learn about Aarti worship.

Aarti Worship


Darshan means “to be seen by God.” Hindus worship their favorite deity by touching their feet during this ritual. Worshippers hope that God will bless them. Worshippers use malas or prayer beads to chant phrases or “mantras.” The mantras are special words or phrases that are repeatedly spoken. In addition, worshippers also perform hymns or “bhajans.”


This is a traditional Hinduism worship. This is used to offer a sacrifice to the god Agni. It has always been a tradition to sacrifice animals during the ceremony. But in the later days, this ritual is no longer practiced. Offerings are still made to the gods through Havan worship. Hindu marriages now involve Havan where the couple walks seven steps around a fire.

Understanding the Different Forms of Hinduism Worship

Puja Worship

Honoring Brahman is the reason for the Puja worship. Worshiping any of the thousands of Hindu deities is one way that Hindus can honor Brahman. A Hindu often worships one or two deities that hold special meaning for them and their family.

Hindus may have different ways of worshiping, but they have an ultimate goal – to show their devotion to the gods. The various methods are very interesting for those who want to learn more about the different forms of Hinduism worship.